top of page

"Turning a bad situation into a good one"



Throughout my second lock-down, I set myself a challenge one to keep me distracted and use my time to help conservation. This involved making and distributing thirteen, little owl; nest boxes as well as ten tawny owl; nest boxes. I have achieved this by contacting local farmers across my area. Hopefully this will be successful for next year, something to look forward to. Meantime in the process of creating these nest boxes, I felt it gave me focus, a positive feeling, hoping I might have made a difference. I went on making twenty two feeders to donate to care homes, with hope of keeping the residents focused to help with mental health in this difficult time! I found it rewarding when one of the residents approached me through her bedroom window, she said “I have brought her joy to her mornings as she watches the birds feed”. So we don't have to let these circumstances get in the way. Harriet day



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sand Martin's

Thrilled to have had my article, published in birdguides article! This is about Sand Martins being Ringed in Sheffield, South Yorkshire helping monitor population!

RSPB Old Moor

https://community.rspb.org.uk/placestovisit/dearnevalley/b/dearnevalley-blog/posts/my-lunch-time-birding-by-harriet-day?utm_source=adgoal_eu&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=rspb-uk-affiliate&mediaco

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page